Home again

We’ve been in Scotland for a few days visiting an 87 year old aunt who until recently was living independently, even driving herself to the hairdresser and supermarket each week.  Her usual outing a couple of weeks ago ended with her becoming totally disorientated in the supermarket, not knowing who she was or where she lived.  She was taken to hospital where she managed somehow to break her hip, so she’s undergone surgery for that.  When we saw her, she recognised us and was content with our company for a couple of hours, laughing and talking (sense, most of the time) and we even sang a wee song together.  Whatever happens now, I shall think of her whenever I hear “I’m gonna wash that man right out of my hair” – that’s what we sang.  We all love her to bits, and wish things were different for her.  She will never go back to live in her house, she won’t see her beloved wee car (which she hasn’t mentioned) and will in all probability have breathed her last breath of outdoor air.  So sad.

I’ve been catching up on some knitting stuff since we got back and realised there are several UFOs lurking about the place.  So this afternoon I set about finishing a sleeveless cardi which has little chance of being worn because I ran out of yarn all too soon, and it’s more than likely too short.  It’s been for a swim in the bath and is now stretched to within an inch of it’s life while it dries.  What will be will be.

I also had two Ishbel shawls waiting to be blocked, so I set to and threw them in the bath as well.  Why did I do that?  Three things to block simultaneously … where?  One shawl is on the wee bed in my craft room, as is the so-called cardigan.  The other shawl is perched atop some foam pads, perched atop a bug screen (for stability) which is in turn perched atop the ironing board.  I managed to deal with So-Called-Cardigan and Shawl No 1 quite swiftly.  Shawl No 2 has taken me most of the afternoon and I’m still not entirely happy with it.  It may yet see the bath again.

What I need around here is a Finisher.  I love the excitement of starting a new project – selecting a pattern, finding I have yarn in stash that’ll do nicely, and Casting On.  I like Casting On.  I go at it with gusto for a time, then along comes an altogether fancier pattern or swankier yarn, batting their eyelids and begging to be Cast On.  Well, so what.  So what if my room contains a gazillion would-be’s.  They get finished eventually, or frogged, or more likely thrown in a heap at the bottom of the wardrobe.  My prediction is they will stay there till I run out of stash and have to recycle.  Given the stash, that could be a long time coming.  But yesterday I finished some socks that I’ve been processing for about a year.  I’m glad they’re finished, they deserved to be full-blown socks, out of the knitting basket and on to my feet.  Here they are …

Nothing special about them at all, but I love the colours and they fit my wee feet just dandy.  I’m going to Cast On for another pair quite soon.  In the meantime though, I’m going to finish a hat I started in Scotland.  Same pattern as this guy, same colour even but a few shades paler.  The finished object is in Cascade 220, the first time I’ve used this yarn and I’m quite head over heels with it.  I’m planning to buy some more, except I’m on a yarn diet.  Yeah, right.  No, I am really.  Last week I joined my friends at Phoenix Knitting Forum in this self imposed purgatory.  But already I’ve been off the wagon twice.  More of The Diet next time.  Meantime here’s the hat.  The pattern is Waffle Slouch by Woolly Wormhead – I love the deep rib, it means the hat stays on your head and covers the ears nicely.

I’d like to capture the colour better, because it’s more a cornflower blue than the photo shows.  I’ll wait for better light and try again.  Meanwhile, it’s close to teatime so I shall head for the kitchen and show willing.

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

