Winter

The snow has well and truly arrived.  Our house sits at the bottom of a short but steep drive, and we’ve put one car at the top for emergency use, but other than that our journeys will be on foot for a while.  Perversely, at times like these I want to be OUT! SIDE! so the feet go inside the cozy handknit socks then into the wellies and off I go (fully clad) with camera.  I took these earlier and although the sky is blue (sort of) it was really cold.

Minus Four

The leeks and broccoli will be just fine, but further up there are some teeny weeny broad beans under a net curtain that’s become     a snowy blanket.  This will either keep them warm or kill them stone dead … I hope for the best. 

The raspberries go on bravely, and I did eat four the other day.

They tasted like raspberries, but only just, and I wasn’t keen to eat the frozen variety.  They look really pretty though.

I don’t have the heart to pull these ladies out of the ground, though I have to admit their days are numbered.

Underneath them, the tulip bulbs are snug and warm, and they’ll burst forth to tell us spring has arrived.  This won’t happen any day soon though, and in the meantime these pretty wee girls provide a bit of unexpected colour.

I love my allotment!  I love the idea of knowing exactly where the fruit and veg on the dinner plate have come from, and what they’ve been through before they got there.  The end product is not always a resounding success, but in much the same way as my knitting, I enjoy the process almost as much as the result.  I also love the reminders that we’re not the only ones to enjoy the allotments.  Who had fun doing this?

 

These look so … wintery, really. 

I hope they keep some wee birds fed during this barren time for them.  Usually they make themselves seen and heard at the allotment but apart from raising some pheasants, I didn’t spot much sign of birdlife this morning.

I just love these wee guys. 

Maybe it would be a kindness to tell them their seasonal work ended some time ago, but they look quite happy.

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Allotment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

