Another diversion

After an idle 20 years my sewing machine saw the light of day a couple of years ago.  Sadly a perished nylon gizmo pushed it towards death’s door.  But wait, what’s this!  A guy in American Samoa, which is about as far from here as you can get, shipped me the very part for the princely sum of $15 including shipping.   The repair was beyond the local shop, but aided by the schematic thoughtfully put on line by my Samoan chum, my husband rose to the challenge.  I’m delighted to say that now it’s been trailed out again, and it’s singing.  I also dusted off the Bernina Overlocker which I have to admit terrifies me a bit.  The three spools of cotton have accumulated 20 years of dust but I daren’t touch them.  And yet, unbelievably, it works perfectly, dust and all!  And I found an unbelievable stash of fabric in a drawer under the guestroom bed … Laura Ashley circa 1990, which I’ve not yet chopped up.  This is what I’ve been doing – little project bags to keep my knitting safe..

Rose & Hubbel fabric from who knows when …

I bought this green stuff before I stumbled on the stash.

You can see there’s enough space for a couple of balls of wool and a wee project – my strawberry mittens in this case.

I’m working on another design at the moment, which incorporates a fancy gusset and creased sides but I haven’t figured what to do about the top.  More later.

Motto for today – never write off a sewing machine (or overlocker).  Or the one who does the sewing.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another diversion

  1. HabibiBoo says:

    Hi: love this post – I’m driving my husband mad with the fact that I separate my projects into little bags and baskets, so that I can see exactly where I’m at!
    Thanks for stopping by to see me … now I’ll know where to come for advice on allotments as well as stash management! 🙂

    • Advice? Well I can advise on leaning on a spade and watching the world go by, or huddling round a coffee cup. Or losing a whole morning chatting to the allotmenter next door – how does any of that sound? Stash management – well the best way I know of managing a stash is to keep buying more. Oh, wait – that’s stash enhancement … if it’s management you want you’ll need to see the boss. 🙂 Thanks for dropping in – I’ll be round your way again to see how the land lies.

Leave a Reply

