Cutting Up

My little craft room is a very mess.  Yes, a very mess.  Thrilled with my success with the pincushions, I thought I’d embark on some applique work.  I have zero experience of this craft, but I’ve looked at the work of other people and thought yes, I’m equal to that.  So I found inspiration on the net, snaffled up some likely looking fabric and set to.  At this point I should say that as well as zero experience, I have zero creative talent.  I’m an instruction follower, largely.  Nevertheless I hacked away at the fabric and produced what I thought were the necessary bits and pieces and started to sew.  The other thing I should mention is that despite having had my sewing machine for nearly 30 years, the embroidery features have never been used.  But I bashed on regardless, creating zig-zags here, wee rows of flowers there.  I grafted away at it for the best part of two days and I can report with honesty that the final product is a piece of rubbish.  But I’ve learned a lot.

I’ve learned that applique, like all other crafts, is a skill learned over years.  Not something you master just by waving some fabric at a sewing machine.

I’ve learned that someone who has the artistic ability of a three year old should not be surprised when her artwork resembles a playgroup masterpiece.

I’ve also learned that I’m not really that bothered about the finished article, it’s all about the process.  This is true of nearly everything I do.

Most of all though, I’ve learned that childhood happiness can be revived at the stroke of a  pair of shears.  When I was a child, one of my favourite pastimes involved bits of fabric and a pair of scissors.  It kept me occupied for hours and hours, and any enquiry as to what I was up to brought forth the reply “I’m Cutting Up”.  That was the name of the game.  So I have spent two happy days engrossed in “Cutting Up”.  I have produced more or less the same results as I did when I was 7.  Why should this be a surprise?  No instruction, little reading, no studying the art has taken place in the ensuing 50 years (gosh!) and it’s true to say that If You Always Do What You’ve Always Done, You’ll Always Get What You’ve Always Had.  In this case, a room littered with bits of paper and fabric, wee bits of thread stuck to the carpet and a sad looking “applique” heading for the bin.  The only thing missing is my Mum who, never one to mince her words, would be demanding to know when I’m going to clear away all this rubbish. Miss you Mum, but your words linger on.

So no photo of applique, but here’s the other pincushion, which also involved a small amount of pleasing cutting up. You can see the little pinholes though, which might mean the whole thing will disintegrate into one large hole over time.

 

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Cutting Up

  1. Squirrel says:

    I know the craft room mess very well, that’s how I work =D at times you can hardly see the floor for all the bits of thread and scraps of material but hey that’s what it’s all about. I love the term “cutting up” and can just imagine you sitting on top of and under a pile of fabric happily snipping away lol. I love your pincushions and I’m sure your applique wasn’t as bad as you made out. I got alot of books from the library to help me out with quilting, applique and sewing etc. I knew the basics but honed up on the rest.

    p.s I will be sending out your prize on Monday.

    Shirley x

    • Oh Shirley the applique is every bit as bad as I described 🙂 It only took that one forray into it to make me realise it’s really not for me. I am determined to have a go at quilting though, but I will do some background work before I take the shears to it lol. I’m excited about my prize! x

  2. Tina says:

    Hello, I love your sweet green pin cushion! Thank you for visiting my blog and trying the oatcake recipe! Thank you too for your lovely comment!
    Love, Tina x

  3. Jo says:

    Hi there thanks for visiting. I agree it is the process that matters, what you have learned can be applied next time. Don’t be so hard on yourself.
    Jo x
    PS I am very intrigued by the rhubarb forcer.

  4. So long as you had fun :-). When I was a child, I would spend hours ‘cutting up’ and then sewing tubes of fabric together as dresses or skirts for my dolls. Happy memories and I’m glad your latest experiment evoked your own happy memories.

  5. Zyle says:

    Awww I can’t believe we don’t get a picture of the “applique!” I bet it wasn’t as bad as you’re making out! x

Leave a Reply

