It worked!

On Sunday, I plucked some forced rhubarb from its cosy hideout

gratifyingly pink!

It seemed a shame to cook it!

But it was just beautiful with pork for Sunday dinner, served instead of apple sauce and we used it to top our breakfast porridge on Monday and Tuesday.  YUM.

It’s really cold today, but we’ve had some glorious days recently and there are sure signs that spring has indeed sprung. Daffs are blooming in the garden opposite. Mine are a reflection of myself, never very prompt but get there in the end.

While I wait, there are these

And these

Shy little things, hiding such pretty faces

Meanwhile, back on the windowsill, basil is coming on nicely
in case you wonder, the white paper is to reflect the light
because even on a south facing windowsill there isn’t enough light at the moment

and the tomatoes continue to provide hope

see, proper tomato leaves

And the first snapdragon, penstamon and shasta daisy seeds have germinated
but they’re still too little to receive visitors.
I do love spring, but I adore summer.
The allotment bursting with good things,
strawberries and raspberries
I can pig out on them
Bring It On.

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Allotment, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It worked!

  1. Rosalie says:

    Oh you so enthusiastic keen gardener! Reading this made me hop down the street and buy a packet of tomato seeds. Really trailing behind but my heart is still more with my snowshoes, at least until the snow creeps off the garden. Winter is not far above us here on the mountain slopes. We still can drive a couple of kms and find a deep layer of winter style snow. That rhubarb looks tasty. And oh my, the hellebore beauties. Rosalie

Leave a Reply

