In which I made a doorstop

The problem with our conservatory is that the door to the outside world doesn’t stay open by itself -very annoying.  Ever resourceful, I came up with this solution …

very clever!  Can you see, two doors tied with a piece of (top quality) string.  One slight drawback is the occupant of that chair risks being garotted should they attempt to get up.

So I looked at fabric doorstops in various places but to be honest I felt my money could be better squandered spent on yarn or fabric.  Then I came across the lovely blog of Flossie Teacakes and found that she had designed the perfect doorstop for my needs.  The pattern is available to download (for a mere £3.50 or so) here.  The instructions are so clear and beautifully written that I feel the cat could follow them, though it likely would choose not to.  It didn’t take long at all, and the only modification I made was to use rice for the filling instead of the bird sand recommended by Florence.  The only reason for this was that our petshop has become a florist, apparently overnight, and I didn’t feel like trailing the length and breadth to find sand.  I used 2kg of the cheapest rice I could find (56p a kilo as it happens) and this does the job perfectly.  As an added bonus, should we fall upon hard times we have a secret food stash.  Here’s the doorstop

It’s not stopping the intended door, because this was a better photo.

The fabric is just some random stuff of roughly the colour scheme – not so exciting and if the wits had been working I might have centred the flower motif, but there you go.

Florence mentions the fancy way she’s attached the handles, and I must say it makes for a really strong join – as well as looking like an expert has been at work.

So huge thanks to the very talented Florence – I can now throw open the door to the sunshine, if it comes.

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In which I made a doorstop

  1. That is fantastic!! (And a lot safer than the piece of string!) I’m attempting some sewing at the minute, but I find it scary compared to knitting.

  2. Squirrel says:

    Wow! I’m loving this. The material is fantastic and I have to agree, much safer and trendier than string. It looks awesome x

  3. Florence says:

    Your doorstop is beautiful & I’m so delighted that you found the pattern easy to follow! Thank you so much for pointing me in the direction of your blog so that I could come and peep at what you’ve made!

    x

Leave a Reply

