Boy what an absence!

I can’t believe I’ve not posted for such a long time.  On the other hand so much has been happening, I’ve not had a lot of spare time.  A close friend recently had a mastectomy which developed complications so we’ve been trailing to hospital 3 or 4 times a week for close on 4 months, my daughter has undertaken a complete life change which has involved her moving away from the area, we are fostering her cat temporarily and I’m looking after my friend’s allotment as well as my own.  That’s enough to go on with.

The allotment is doing just dandy though.  Remember the tomatoes?  And the sweetpeas? Here they are …





And some other random pretty …







We’ve eaten a gazillion strawberries and made over 20 pots of jam, 15 jars of blackcurrant jam and we may turn into raspberries if we consume many more. What a glorious year for fruit and still the brambles to look forward to. The peas are truly scrumptious, as are my favourites the broad beans. Circumstances have prevented a huge variety of produce, but I’m more than happy with what we’ve got. And the allotment is still the happiest place I can imagine.

Knitting has also taken a backseat this summer, but I felt the itch last night when I unearthed a beautiful cardigan pattern. Unfortunately I need to wait for the arrival of the 6.5mm needles tomorrow and I can crack on.

All for now, off to the allotment. I hope to post more soon.

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Boy what an absence!

  1. Beautiful! How would anyone have the time to blog with that wonderful garden??

  2. Helene says:

    What a gorgeous haven of peace and colour, bursting with vitamins too! You certainly deserve a rest, curled up with your knitting 🙂 With 6.5mm needles, the cardi will be a quick knit.
    Good to read you again . Tricotine x

    • Thanks for popping by Helene, it’s good to see you. I should take my camera to the allotment again soon because the corner with the sweetpeas is in full flight and I feel I could sup it with a spoon 🙂 Tonight we ate the second picking of french beans which were just lovely. The cardi is certainly a fast knit, if only I could discipline myself to do it. My wonderful DH has just bought me super new Bernina sewing machine (which I’ll post about soon), so that’s keeping me out of trouble

Leave a Reply

