How can I discard you …

when you still look so pretty! I was hoping the allotment would be well and truly abed by now, after my not-so-great season. But then there’s this

They had an unhappy childhood, left too long in their seed trays, yet they’ve bloomed all summer and continue to look cheerful even now. I’m a bit bemused by the ratty, uneven petals but perhaps that’s how they’re meant to be.

I pulled up the main sweetpeas last week but these linger on behind the greenhouse, a mere hop away from the compost heap – yet I don’t have the heart.

The recent spell of warm weather encouraged these – there are many strawberries on the plants lots of which have ripened, but I’m sure the mice are welcome to them. Generosity is my only option really because the mice/slugs always get there first.

Rosalie – if you read this I know you’ll shake your head and tut at me! I know I’ll regret my woosieness when the rain is beating my brains out and my wellies are stuck in the mud and still work to be done, but hey, they’re pretty. A girl can never have too much pretty!

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Allotment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How can I discard you …

  1. Rosalie says:

    Yes indeed, I am watching. Glad you re-surfaced. Sorry about the stuck boots. Rosalie

  2. Hey Rosalie, great to see you popping by! I stop by yours regularly, but can’t see anywhere to leave my calling card πŸ™‚ Your life looks great!

  3. Kelly says:

    What a lovely blog! Just came across it by chance. I love your garden. I would love to be able to grow my own stuff from scratch but I’m not very green-fingered 😦

    • Hi Kelly thank you for stopping by! I popped across to your place for a wee quick visit (I’ll return for a better look soon) – I see we share the knitting bug. How’s the C&G going? I’m not that green fingered either to be honest, but I love my allotment – why not try some broad beans, there’s still time to get some in the ground if you’re quick. They’ll lie in the ground all winter (you need do nothing) and then pop up late winter/early spring. Then you can look forward to some good grub in early summer. Trust me – dead easy. πŸ™‚

  4. Kelly says:

    It was through a knitting forum I found you (Phoenix knitting I think). I’ve got packets of vegetable seeds ready to be planted next year so I’ll give it a go. Would be lovely to be able to open the back door, grab some veg fresh from the ground and make a pot of soup…..lovely! I highly reccomend the C & G course. I enjoy it. A lot of work but really good. Where in Scotland are you from? I’m originally from Dunoon, Argyll but have lived in Inverness since 2007.

    • Glad you found Phoenix Knitting forum! It’s a lovely place, loads of really friendly people from all parts of the world – do join in, you’ll be more than welcome! I had a look at your link to UK Hand Knitters group on Ravelry and from that found the info about the Alzheimers Scotland Challenge – I’ll be contributing to that, and I’ve posted the details on the forum too. I’m originally from Stirlingshire, but been in Yorkshire nearly 30 years, which is longer than I lived in Scotland – I’m still Scottish though!

  5. Catlin says:

    Hi Kelly thank you for stopping by! I popped across to your place for a wee quick visit (I’ll return for a better look soon) – I see we share the knitting bug. How’s the C&G going? I’m not that green fingered either to be honest, but I love my allotment – why not try some broad beans, there’s still time to get some in the ground if you’re quick. They’ll lie in the ground all winter (you need do nothing) and then pop up late winter/early spring. Then you can look forward to some good grub in early summer. Trust me – dead easy.
    +1

Leave a Reply

