It’s the Little Things

Little Things that have caused me disproportionate happiness recently :

1. Finding a place for a spare single bed – it’s now in the wardrobe. Hooray!

There really is a bed in here but I can’t actually prove it without moving a ton of other stuff that’s in front of the door.

2. Visiting Ikea and buying some more storage stuff to put in the vacant bed-space. Hooray!

Still some empty spaces but that won’t last.

3. The thread store carefully made for me by my lovely husband. Thank you so much!


I will play with this for hours.  Rearranging, sorting, arranging again.  And I squeal every time I see it.  I’m a very sad person who worries about the order of things on the washing line, and colour co-ordinating the pegs.  Someone suggested I buy wooden pegs, but where’s the satisfaction in that?

4. Taking books to the charity shop and finding one of the books on my reading list for a quid – yes, One Pound. That’s happened three times recently.

Today’s lucky find was One Day by David Nichols who is new to me.  The person who recommended it is usually spot-on, so I’m hopeful.

Bigger Things that have also created happiness :
1. Listening to the Military Wives Choir and realising they could make Christmas No 1 with this. I don’t really give a fiddler’s about Christmas No. 1 but they so deserve something good.

Very Big Things which have created a lasting euphoria :
1. The Bernina 380 sewing machine my lovely husband bought me for my birthday. This was way back in September, but I haven’t introduced her yet.
There really is only one Very Big Thing in this category.

I hope Bernina will feature large in the coming weeks and months.  I have some things to show, but that thing called Christmas is looming and I’m busy knitting presents that should have been done ages ago.  Hands up, I only started two nights ago.  It’s only 8 December for goodness sake, what’s the panic?

HUGE Things that make me very, very happy and very, very grateful :
1. My Lovely Husband
2. My Lovely Daughter

That last one’s a bit soppy, but nonetheless true.  And no photos because they’d be very mad at me, I think.

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Crafting, Just stuff, Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to It’s the Little Things

  1. Marion says:

    You are so organised it’s unbelievable! Remind me never to send you a photo of my workroom…

  2. Lynne says:

    I LOVE your sewing machine!!!! It’s fabulous, and the way it sits on the table is so convenient.

  3. Marion – it’s a temporary glitch. Things will be back to chaos in a few days I expect.
    Lynne – the table was nearly a gonner. It was purchased at the same time as my Singer nearly 30 years ago and we didn’t think it was classy enough for the Bernina. I couldn’t find a good alternative though, so hubby took a screwdriver and a saw to it and made it work, sort of. The Singer folded down into the guts of the table so it could be a handy surface, but that facility is no longer available. I can’t be doing with the machine several inches higher than the table because of my lack of height, and I think you probably have the same problem. I’ll post some more photos later to show the inside. I remember seeing the same table on ebay a few times – it might be worth looking. I have plans to paint it white but when that will take place …

  4. Jill says:

    What a lovely happy post x

  5. Ally says:

    Looks really great Mam, the room must seem huuuuuuuge without the bed there. Love it, love it, love it! Especially the thread holder, it looks fab. Nice one Dad! And no I wouldn’t be mad at pictures, tsk 🙂 xxx
    p.s. We colour coordinate the pegs on the washing line too 😉

  6. billiescraftroom says:

    Great craft space, glad its not just me who enjoys sorting and storing stash just as much as aquiring and using said stash 🙂

    Just tell me you name things too so I don’t feel I’m the only one who does that. Bernie the Bernina? or is it a girl?

    Best wishes

    Billie

    • Hi Billie and thanks for stopping by. As yet the sewing machine remains “My Sewing Machine” because I’m still so much in awe that I don’t dare address her by her first name – yes she is a girl. My ever faithful dressmaker’s dummy rejoices in the name of Agnes though. 😀 But she and I have been pals for nearly 30 years!

Leave a Reply

