Just in time

If this goes according to plan, I’ll achieve a January post before it’s too late.  Notoriously a dreary month, nevertheless it’s been a busy one with a big birthday (DH), a visit from a very dear family member (BiL) who we don’t see nearly often enough, some excellent meals out and precious Wednesday evenings with great pals (M&M).

The allotment is resting, apart from the relentless tulips which made their debut appearance in December – I can’t believe it.  They may be in for a shock if the “Siberian Beast” strikes as predicted and temperatures plummet.  I can hardly wait – not.   I sowed sweetpeas on 4 January and almost all in the first two trays have germinated.  The others will appear next week as they were started later.  And today the rhubarb forcer was positioned.  I can’t wait for those lovely sweet juicy sticks and looking back to this makes my mouth water.  We went out last night and had a beautiful meal, rounded off with “New Season Rhubarb Crumble”.  I swear I could have eaten a bucketful.  Served with the most delicious custard.  The man can cook!

On Phoenix Knitting I’ve joined in the “project a month” which forced me to finish and photograph these.

The mittens are Cloisonee by the Yarn Harlot.  Such an easy knit, but I think very effective.  My hands are really small and the Aran weight called for in the pattern wasn’t going to work.  I used DK and 4.5mm needles and just knit exactly to pattern.  Perfect fit for me.

The scarf should be a cowl, and will become such if I can find a yard or so of that yarn.  This will be the proverbial needle in haystack.  It’s still a pretty good scarf though, but I’ll be really pleased if I can stitch it up.  I’ve started doing this with scarves, knitted or bought, and delight in the lack of flying tails.  Very neat and tidy, they lie beautifully under a jacket and no worries about where to stuff the excess.  Warmer too.

I really hope I can find that wee scrap of yarn …

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Allotment, Crafting, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just in time

  1. Lynne says:

    Ooo!! I love your mittens. I too have little hands, and once made mittens with 4ply instead of DK. I found it worked a treat. I think your scarf is lovely as a scarf, although cowls definately don’t get in the way so much. And now I think that pattern will have to find it’s way into my favourites. 🙂

  2. Kelly says:

    I love your scarf – beautiful stitch and colour!
    Kelly.

  3. Thanks for the nice comments Lynne & Kelly. They are both lovely patterns and a nice quick fix.

  4. Jill says:

    Lovely mitts and scarf both look really cosy. I’ve been on the instant gratification knitting lately so have managed to start and finish three different things this year. Only two hats and a baby cardi but I’m chuffed at that.

  5. Jill the project-a-month on Phoenix Knitting Forum seems to be providing a good incentive to finish. Maybe Solstice will be my FO for February – I can’t consider it as finished till I’m absolutely positive nothing can be done about you-know-what!

Leave a Reply

