Pinkshoes actually Knits

Most of my posts seem to be of the allotment variety and Pinkshoesknits has become something of a misnomer.  To avoid being accused of misrepresentation, here’s one I made earlier.  A lot earlier.  In fact, it’s close to two years since I started Louisa Harding’s Anouk. 

It wasn’t the difficulty of the pattern that kept it from being finished, rather the lack of appropriate weather.  We still don’t have appropriate weather but I needed a finished object for the Month of June on Phoenix Knits and when I pulled this one out I remembered why I’d fallen in love with it.  There are two versions, this one is the shorter and on me it sits nicely a few inches above my waist.  This might not suit the needs of the longer bodied but it’s just right for me.  Model Agnes, although broader of beam, is slimmer of waist than I (isn’t everyone) so it appears less fitted than it really is.  I have to say it has restored my faith that I can actually produce something I like, and equally important, actually fits me!  The buttons are not entirely to my liking and had to be sheared from a charity shop blouse size 22 (I am size 6) which is a shame because a larger lady might have liked the blouse.  Until I find the perfect little pearly jobs these will have to do.

 

Oh and for those who like to know these things, the pattern calls for 6 balls of Louisa Harding Merletto which I didn’t have.  I did have 6 balls of Louisa Harding Kashmir which I bought for the grand total of £6.  It took all but a tiny amount (less than 10g).  The 2 lots of buttons I’ve experimented with so far have cost me more than that!

On the subject of the allotment, I have nothing good to report.  If you were interested in slugs, mice, beetles, caterpillars, thieving blackbirds, driving rain, galeforce winds and cold that woud skin you I could tell you plenty.  Meantime, hoping for better weather … I could just knit.

About pinkshoesknits

Hi, Pinkshoes here. This is my first crack at blogging so here's a couple of things about me. I live with my husband in a pretty village in East Yorkshire. I love to get down and dirty on my allotment and when I clean up my act I love knitting, crochet and sewing. If you share these hobbies, maybe you'd like to check in from time to time and see if there's anything interesting round here.
This entry was posted in Crafting, Knitting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pinkshoes actually Knits

  1. Christine says:

    Well worth pulling it out and getting on with finishing it. It looks fab, especially with that pretty skirt.

  2. Lynne says:

    It’s gorgeous! The cables and bobbles are amazing! And I happen to think the buttons you have on it look great. 🙂

  3. I love that cardigan – it goes perfectly with the dress. So summery. Pity we’ve not really had much of a summer this year though. 😦

  4. Erica says:

    Very lovely cardigan 🙂 i will follow your blog it is very intresting.. and your username on phenix knitting is lovely 🙂 i love pink 🙂 hehe

Leave a Reply

